More Quotes – 8th July 2016

Hello World! Since I’m not in my most creative mood today, but would like to write some kind of blog post, I will attempt to stand on the shoulders of giants:

Alea iacta Est

Famously used by Caesar when crossing the River Rubicon, I find this quote makes one realise that the past is what it is, and is unchangeable. And in light of that, we should:

Life is not a matter of holding good cards, but of playing a poor hand well – Robert Louis Stevenson

I must admit, I’m a sucker for board-game related analogies… for some reason I find them more quantifiable or easier to grasp! And now for a political quote (no doubt in light of recent events):

I am not altogether on anybody’s side, because nobody’s altogether on my side – Treebeard

I think it’s an important perspective to hold that even if you happen to agree wholeheartedly with such and such a person, to never lose your own ability to think critically and judge rationally. With this philosophy in mind, you hopefully wont end up like this:

But because though art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will begin to vomit thee out of my mouth – Revelation 3:16

And on that sobering note, I leave you!

 

Leave a Reply

